Enamel flux turning yellow

Hi everyone. I’m new to cloisonné enamelling and am having trouble with my base coat.
When I fire it in the kiln it comes out with a yellow tint in it which can stay that way right until the piece is finished.

I have tried the following fluxes, all of which are intended for use on silver:

-‘W.G.Ball Leadfree Transparent Enamel Clear Flux, 477 for copper and silver’ (Comes out very yellow on silver)
-Latham Enamel Normal Flux T200
-Latham Enamel Silver Flux T232
-WGBALL Transparent Enamel Powder – Hard Silver Flux (7266)
-Milton Bridge 8102 Silver Flux

I have a small Prometheus kiln and fire my enamels at about 710 degrees celsius (1310 F) for about 2 minutes until glossy.

I wash the enamel and apply it wet packed or sift it.

I posted this question on the Grains of Glass website and someone kindly suggested I try “Soyer 3 for silver”, and while this has fired beautifully clear, it is leaded, so I can’t use my unleaded enamels over it.

Ideally I’d get an unleaded flux for silver that doesn’t yellow, rather than switch over all my enamels to leaded.

Is there anything I’m doing wrong from the above?

Gracr

I’m not sure because as new as you are I am double new and very inexperienced, however all of my enamels came with instructions stating that they fire around 1500. Maybe try a higher temp?

I have zero reference for the heat they are actually fired at since I am blasting them w my torch.

I have had less than stellar effects w fine silver as well. Color is not that great, or way way off. I am sure it’s operator error on my part.

Looks as expected on copper tho.

Good luck- Janine

I use only leaded enamels. I use them on fine silver and copper. But I did a search for Thompson’s lead free enamel for find silver. Thompson says their 2020 flux will not yellow on silver. You can give it a try. Or one of their others. (They have lots of different fluxes) Or you could just switch to leaded. I think you would be happier in the long run.