Cutting a channel in copper so that I can flow solder for a copper cuff

Hi, I’m a newbie and have taking a Jewelry 1 class, I want to cut a groove or channel in copper so I can flow silver solder in it , using it as an embellishment for a copper cuff, thought about etching it or using a bur (never used a bur before) or ??? All suggestions are welcome!!!
Thanks,
Oldfisher

1 Like

Hi Francis,
I’m no great expert, but it would seem to me that the best way to get an easily controlled channel is to use a file. It will take a little longer than using a burr, perhaps, but there is much less danger of going right through your sheet. Etching would certainly work, but is a lot of trouble to go to if you are only wanting one channel…if you wanted an intricate pattern, etching would be the way to go. -royjohn

1 Like

Oldfisher Hi!

Something to consider … generally speaking it’s not a great idea to mix copper (or any of the copper based alloys) with silver alloys … because when it gets wet, especially in a salty environment like sweat, a galvanic reaction occurs and the metals start to exchange electrons … I forget the direction of the transfer, but the result is the same … one erodes the other … and you end up with a mess. You can sometimes pull it off with pieces that don’t touch the skin like earrings … but if there is skin contact and the piece is worn much its gonna erode. With a cuff it might be ok if the metal contact does not get wet … especially in contact with the skin. If I were going to do such a task … I’d probably etch it with an electroetching process … I use a cupric nitrate solution, but you can get by with saltwater and a battery as long as you do it outside or with a vent hood because it produces chlorine gas. Good luck and have fun!!! Brent

1 Like