Coat of Arms vs. Crest - Terminology

Not to teach my grandfather how to suck eggs, but as I’m sure you’ve been told any number of times by heraldists, the bas-relief on the platter is a coat of arms, not a crest. More properly a full achievement of arms.
That aside, this is a very beautiful emblazon of the arms of the Worshipful Company of Haberdashers.

People using “crest” to mean “arms” is one of the pet peeves of the heraldic community.
The crest, for those who may not know, the crest is the bit that sits atop the helmet.

1 Like

I am sorry if my words upset anyone, I just typed what I thought was understandable. I have been making coats of arms for over 50 years now. Actually my end of apprenticeship masterpiece was this badge, which is mainly a coat of arms that hangs on a sash.

3 Likes

I don’t think anyone was upset, I certainly wasn’t and am not. Speaking only for myself, not the entire heraldic community, I view these sort of nomenclature missteps as teachable moments.

For instance, the term badge means different things in different contexts. A badge, as used generally, is a physical object that denotes, or confers, a certain authority or association; as a police badge or the beautiful badge posted above. However in a purely heraldic context a badge is an associated emblem, not part of the coat of arms proper, which is used to mark one’s belongings and can be worn by one’s retainers and followers to denote being part of the household or in some other way aligned.