Can you use pottery clay to hold small pieces together for soldering?

Hi - I like making filigree rings which consist of lots of small sections of wire shaped into horseshoes, loops, curls, etc which I have to solder together. Because they’re so small the pieces tend to move/separate when you start to heat them and the flux bubbles (both Auflux and borax do that). I’m going to try embedding the pieces in the surface of potters clay to see if that holds them still long enough to solder them together. Has anyone got any tips for doing this or suggestions for other ways of securing small pieces, to keep them in contact with each other? Plaster of Paris/dental investment might work but I’d have to wait until it set and dried out before soldering, which would really drag the process out.

Hi Davidcan
Back when I was a student I think I used plasticine.
I don’t recall any problems.

hi

here is a great article by Victoria Lansford on russian filigree, done for Ganoksin, thst may interest you.

She also has a russian filigree video for sale

i have the streaming version and it is very informative

there is also a DVD version

julie

1 Like

If you don’t want to solder in plaster you can pin them in place on a charcoal block with short lengths of binding wire.

2 Likes

Back in the day when I was learning my teacher used ( wax based ) play Doug, to place the parts just as you would see them from the front , and then would put a can ( bottom cutted out) around the whole thing , and then casted dental investment in the can , once it settled he would flip it pull out the playdough and solder from the reverse of the piece

Here is a video of the technique you are talking about. TÉCNICA con YESO para SOLDAR, 💎Clases de Joyería - YouTube

2 Likes