Back to Ganoksin | FAQ | Contact

[Calls for Entries] MJSA 2014 Vision Awards


MJSA Calls for Entries to its 2014 Vision Awards New categories
include awards for the use of CAD/CAM technology and
digitalmarketing expertise

ATTLEBORO FALLS, Massachusetts-MJSA, the association for jewelry
makers anddesigners, has announced its Call for Entries for the 2014
MJSA Vision Awards. The deadline for submissions is later this
year-April 17, and the contest winners will be celebrated at the
2015 MJSA Expo New York.

"We’ve expanded the MJSA Vision Awards so they honor not only
outstanding jewelry design-including custom work-but also the
remarkable work of jewelrybrands in their use of digital marketing,"
says David W. Cochran, MJSA president and CEO. “It also celebrates
the innovative use of lasers and CAD/CAM, to showcase how jewelry
designers are incorporating new technologies to better make and sell
their creations.”

The MJSA Vision Awards, through the years, have celebrated the work
of someof today’s most well-known jewelry artists, such as Todd
Reed, Mark Schneider, Pamela Froman, Julia Behrends, Adam Neeley,
and Gregor=e Morin, alongwith countless other jewelry makers and
designers successfully working in the field today.

The 2014 MJSA Vision Award categories include:

  • Professional Design Excellence (1-3 years in business);

  • Professional Design Excellence (4+ years in business);

  • The Future of the Industry, sponsored by the MJSA Education

  • Custom Design Distinction (designs that met a client’s request),
    sponsored by Techform Advanced Casting;

  • Laser Distinction (design that relied upon the use of a laser),
    sponsoredby LaserStar Technologies Corp.;

  • CAD/CAM Distinction (designs that were created with the use of
    CAD/CAM technologies), sponsored by EnvisionTEC;

  • Digital Marketing Distinction (honors a business that has created
    a digital marketing program).

All professional and distinction categories are open to independent
or company-employed U. S. and international jewelry designers. The
Future of the Industry Award is open to any student enrolled in an
art, design, or jewelry-related program at a college, university, or
proprietary technical school.

Winners will be selected by a distinguished panel of jewelry
designers, manufacturers, and editors of leading jewelry trade
publications. Judges will consider originality, presentation
quality, effective use of materials, wearability, and the design’s
perceived manufacturing and marketing potential.

All winning entries will be recognized in MJSA news releases
delivered to the trade and consumer press; in MJSA Journal; in the
MJSA Up to Date e-newsletter; and in a special section on the MJSA
website, MJSA. org. They will also be shared via MJSA’s social media
channels at LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest. The winning
entries will be featured in special ad pagesin Instore and
Metalsmith magazines (the competition’s Media Sponsors).

All first-place Professional Design Excellence winners will be
awarded a $500 Rio Grande gift certificate, and all second-place
Professional Design Excellence winners will receive a full library
of MJSA Press publications (value of up to $400) and be recognized
in trade publication ads. All first-place Distinction winners will
receive $750 cash awards, and their entries will be recognized in
trade publication ads. The first-place Digital Marketing Distinction
winner will have its digital efforts profiled as a “standard of
excellence” case study, which will appear in the MJSA Technology
Sourcebook (20,000 distribution to jewelry makers, designers, and
retailers) and promoted by Media Sponsors Metalsmith and Instore

The first-place Future of the Industry winner will receive a $500
gift certificate from Rio Grande and a $1,000 scholarship from the
MJSA Education Foundation, payable to any jewelry design, jewelry
making, or other jewelry-related degree program at a U. S. college,
university, or technical school. The second-place Future of the
Industry winner will receive a $500 scholarship from the MJSA
Education Foundation.

To learn more about the MJSA Vision Awards, see complete guidelines,
and enter the contest, go to