How to make texture mats/ rubber stamps from image

I am new to jewelry making and wanted to ask for recommendations. I discovered making jewelry with metal clay and I fell in love with it. I like to make jewelry with texture mats but I wanted to design my own textures. I recently started to draw mandala on my laptop but I want to make a texture mat from my digital designs? Any recommendations? do I look for a rubber stamp vendor or is there equipment I can buy to make my own stamps? Or maybe 3D print it? Any one have experience with this?

Three suggestions. All similar

1. Perhaps use a technique for etching glass then use that as a mold

2. Spam as #1 but look at etching as in a printed circuit board

3. Take your design to a sign shop and have them cut it in vinyl.

Sorry if these are off base just trying to think out of the box

Regards Ron Wade

Iā€™ve been experimenting with embossing plates, essentially letterpress printing plates.
Although letterpress is a dying art there are a few firms still producing them.

I sandwich the embossing plate, a sheet of wax (cover it both sides with clingfilm first) and a silicon baking sheet (to provide push) and two outside pieces of thin steel or wooden sheets, then press in a vice.
The resulting wax is then put in a freezer to harden the wax and make it easier to remove the clingfilm.

Sprue and cast as normal.
This should work with silver clay just as easily, just make sure to oil the plate before use.

Alternatively etch copper or brass using the laser transparency method.

Dave

2 Likes

You can make your own stamps ISO g photo polymer plates and a UV light or have someone make them for you. Look at you tube.

I believe the above wax was from a polymer plate, they do tend to be less deep and have more rounded base to walls. The magnesium printing plates tend to have a much squarer base. Just depends on the finished profile you require and how deep you need the design.