Fire risk with Torches - Fire Inspector Question

Orchidians -

I just got a phone call from Richard, and he asked me the following question. I have no idea… can anyone shed some light on this issue?

See below.

I am a fire inspector with the City of Parma, Ohio Fire Dept. I’ve recently become aware of several jewelers in our city that use LP gas in their businesses. The Ohio Fire Code and NFPA limits the LP cylinder to the 2.5lb. (1 Kg) size for use inside of buildings that are accessible to the public. Some of these business owners have 15-30lb. size cylinders. I’ve visited your web site & found the section ‘How Are Torches Used in Jewelry Making?’ In this section the statement “The (LP) canister must be kept outside for safety reasons” was found. We are about to approach our business owners to advise them of this situation. We want to be sensitive as to how this will affect their business, and at the same time provide for the safety of all involved. They will have the option to use the smaller ‘hand torch’ size cylinders or move the LP gas tank outside under the proper conditions.
Can you provide any additional advice?

Thank you,
Richard Ciarrone
Fire Inspector
Parma Fire Dept.
(440) 885-1217x103 office
(440) 866-2418 fax
insprciarrone@parmafire.org

L.P. gas is heavier than air, so a leak can and will pool in low spaces, so
nearly all jurisdictions restrict the volume allowed in a structure.

Ron Charlotte
Gainesville, FL
thaalibi@gmail.com or ronch2@bellsouth.net

Hi Seth,

Possibly we can help. Our business, Paige Tools is ‘all about’ Tips & Torches for alternative fuel gasses, e.g., propane & natural gas. Safety issues, ‘misconceptions & truths’ about fuel gasses, etc. Everything dedicated to jewelry makers & the Torches / gasses they use… especially propane. Pass along our contact info and we’ll be glad to speak with the fire inspector.
Regards,
Richard

Paige Tools, Inc.
PO Box 31055
Seattle, WA 98103
206-527-1515

Hello Seth,